A head for business and a bod for sin

This entry should be read while you have “Let the River Run” playing in your head. I think that Reece put it most eloquently when describing our kinds of jobs this morning when she said “What are our lives coming to that we say things like, ‘My cubicle’ or ‘I get in trouble for yelling over cubicle walls’. I thought I’d be buying and selling people like me by now.” I personally can’t see myself buying and selling people, but if you knew Reece you’d know she was born for that. The getting in trouble for yelling over cubicle walls thing is a result of a memo that went around in my office, by the way, regarding office etiquette. Here it is in full. It’s pretty much all common sense, but the fact that the 80 employees in my office need to be addressed as if they were first graders speaks volumes.

Talking over cubicle walls is unacceptable.

When speaking in an open area, please be considerate of your co-workers that are trying to work.

While using a speakerphone your office door should be closed.

You should not use the speaker on your telephone when sitting in a cubicle.

Watch your language.

Clean up after yourself in the kitchen, bathroom, patio, and conference rooms.

If you have a meeting and there is food involved, let me know when you are done and the mess will be cleaned up.

If you reserve a conference room, please keep your reservation or cancel it if your plans change.

If you play music, no one but you should hear it.

Please do not yell to people as they walk by your cubicle or in your area.

When food is placed in the kitchen, please touch only the piece that you are going to take. (That one is my fave)

If a machine does not work please let me know and do not leave it for the next person.

One last thing about my office, the ladies room always ends up really messy like with TP on the floor and people who don’t flush those seat covers. Like, how old are you that you don’t think you have to leave things neat for the next person who’s coming in? NO common sense. Once, someone left some pistachio’s on top of the toilet paper and I tell you, it sure is a fun day when you get an email from an angry woman in Fixed Income asking “Ladies. WHO was eating pistachios in the bathroom?? DISGUSTING! Who would DO that?” I agree, yuck! But there’s something so great about a woman who would go to the effort of sending a company wide email to address the nuts in the ladies room.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

