I’m an idiot with the power to influence world news

Here’s the deal. Sunday night I was reading CNN.com Entertainment News when I came across an article regarding the weekend gross for Resident Evil. The title was “Evil Does Good At Box Office”. So irate was I at the clear lack of editing and the poor grammar, I sent a mean email to CNN because they are probably the most recognizable news source in the country and they have a duty to be grammatically correct.

“It should be Evil does WELL, because otherwise you are just implying that a movie has been charitable, and I highly doubt Milla Jovovich was philanthropizing at a local theater near me. This is not the first time, CNN, that I have found discrepencies in your work. And you call yourselves a reputable news source.I don’t even hold a degree in English and I could edit this site better than the third grader you have doing it for you.”

I was so smug about what I thought was a brilliant and hilarious commentary on CNN and how crappy it is that I bragged to Luke and was like, LOOK at that headline. LOOK. Doesn’t it make you sick? At which point he informed me that it was a play on the word EVIL that is in the title of the movie, like good and evil. But whatever, as long as I was satisfied and found a way to be less bored, then good for me.

The story does not end there, friends! Today, I checked CNN to see if they had done anything about the matter that got me so riled up. And they DID! I am going to proudly say that because of my rant, they added parentheses to the title of the article to clarify what surely was an issue for all English speaking grammar checkers with nothing else to do on a Sunday night. See? One person can make a difference!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

