Archive for February 3rd, 2005

Cabbies: A spoiler story

I have been feeling really LOW lately, friends. I am having an attack of conscience of the worst ilk. But first, let me preface my story with another story. A story about a girl we will call “Jenny from the Block”.

Page Six informed me long long ago that whilst Miss Jenny from the Block was making the wonderfully quirky art film Maid in Manhattan, only then did she realize that people who work in service industries are in fact, PEOPLE too. It was not until she really went undercover to research her role (such a method actress) that she realized that maybe she shouldn’t yell so much at the gals who are responsible for the hydrotherapizing the lush floral arrangements of white orchids she demands in her rider and maybe she could hold off on verbally assaulting the ones who make up her 9000 thread count sheeted Tempurpedic. It was not until she played the role of a sorta poor maid who ends up getting rich in the end that she realized they deserve to be treated with a shred of respect.

It only took ME, one cab ride, however to figure this out. Now, anyone who knows me knows that my Friendster profile clearly states that my hobbies include extreme fighting, laughing loudly within earshot of people with obvious deformities and dropping metal objects that sound like change but upon further inspection clearly are not into the waiting cups of homeless people. I just don’t care about others. But when I was in a cab with Gil and Amy the other night we got to talking about the movie starring Robert DeNiro and Dakota Fanning entitled Hide and Seek. Gil had seen it. Amy and I had not. Since Amy and I were almost 100% certain that we were not going to see it, we forced Gil to tell us the scary, shocking, “surprise” ending. Which is all well and good for us.

It wasn’t until after I got out of the cab that I realized, what if my cab driver was going to go see that movie right after his shift? What if we gave away the ending to the movie he had been dying to see? Have we no shame? Sitting in that cab discussing the ending could have spoiled an experience for one man in this city. And that’s when I realized that cab drivers are people too, guys. Don’t forget that they can hear your conversations so try not to divulge too much because they work hard driving us places, we shouldn’t ruin the cinema for them by telling them that Million Dollar Baby is all about assisted suicide and not really so much about boxing or something like that. Promise me you won’t spoil anything for the fleet of drivers that make this city so great, okay guys? If I can become a better person and not do that stuff, so can you.