It’s Lectric, Boogie Woogie Woogie!

I am not someone who gets irate over deliberately misspelled brand names like Cheez-Its or Kool-Aid, but one thing that does make me bonkers is Lectric Shave. It’s not a name that was modified for phonetics’ sake, and it is the opposite of what you’d call rolling off the tongue easily. It’s what happened before the rolling-off-the-tongue wheel was invented. I feel like, by taking out the “E”, the word elicits a pronunciation with emphasis like “RRROAR! This shave is LLLLectric! I will eat you!” But does shave lotion require that much action and gruff enthusiasm? It doesn’t even have an apostrophe and the name is trademark protected, as is the phrase “Blade Close. Lectric Smooth”. Well, you know what, Lectric Shave? You can have it. You do not have to worry about the theft of your stupid name. Because it’s Etarded. But it does make me wonder what other stupid names there would be if people followed your Lectric lead.
lectric
MTV Unplugged was all about saying bye bye to your…Lectric Guitar!
…Lectrolysis is a permanent method of hair removal!
Static…Lectricity makes your hair stand up and it will shock you!
You know who owns NBC? General…Lectric!
The…Lectric Chair is a bad way to die! Peeee Youuu, dead burning bodies!
Heyyy youuuu guysss! The…Lectric Company was just released on DVD!
On Singled Out, after Jenny McCarthy came Carmen…Lectra!
Don’t go in the pool, there’s a…Lectrical storm a-brewin’!
Mr. Blue Sky is a song by…Lectric Light Orchestra!
When I was in 4th grade I owned Debbie Gibson’s…Lectric Youth!
We should all take a walk down to…Lectric Avenue! There’s one in Fitchburg, MA!
I sing the body…Lectric!
Jennifer Garner played…Lektra and then had Ben Affleck’s baby!
Breakin’ 2…Lectric Boogaloo is a great sequel!

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (1)
    • Shelley
    • July 8th, 2006

    Thank you so much for that….I felt like I was the only one who thought this way. Today, I came across your blog after searching for: “lectric shave” and “dumbest product name” after the commercial came on. When that didn’t work I just tried trolling through all the “lectric shave” hits, and saw your blog entry.

    I’m not sure why this irks me so much. Perhaps it’s because, whatever they might think at the ad company that invented it, the phrase does not run trippingly off the toungue!

    Thanks again, especially for “Etarded” which is probably going to be part of my lexicon from now on…

Comments are closed.
