I’m “IT”

Glennis “tagged” my blog today, which is 2007’s answer to the email questionnaires we all forwarded in college (as in: “When was the last time you cried?” and “Thunderstorms: Cool or Creepy?”). By being tagged I now have to reveal 5 things about myself that I think no one knows. Or something. I’ve been withdrawing from online life lately (as you can see from all the non-existent posts you have not been reading here), but I’ll bite.

1. I sing songs in Spanish in my head. Well, I used to when I was actually a student of Spanish in high school. When The Bodyguard was a really big hit movie and Whitney Houston had like 8 singles out at once, I would translate them into Spanish (Spanglish might be slightly more accurate) and they would run through my head that way.

“No necesito mirar…mucho mas lejos. No quiero ir, donde no me sigas…” Yeah, that’s a line from “I Have Nothing” but in Spanish. (“I don’t really need to look/Very much further, I don’t wanna have to go/Where you don’t follow”) Welcome to my 14-year-old mind.

whitney

2. I have to set my alarm to a number ending in 3. For example, 7:03am. 8:33am. Etc.

3. I pick out names for children and pets that I don’t know if I’m going to have. On a regular basis.

4. I waited in line to have Ann M. Martin sign a copy of “Kristy’s Great Idea” at Tatnuck Booksellers in Worcester, MA. When I was 17.
babysitters

5. I watched Romancing the Stone and/or Annie (taped off of tv) every day after school for a year. I knew (and probably still know) every line to both. I still think the phrase “mondo dismo” should be more popular than it is.

Joan Wilder: “You’re an absolute mondo dismo”
Michael Douglas as Jack T. Colton: “I’m a what am I? A what?”
Joan Wilder: “You’re a man who takes money from stranded women.”

So I guess I have to tag 5 people…but I don’t think I know 5 people. So…

Amy and Jeff , My Tagged Companion, and Ryan, You’re It.

