Positives

My friend Ryan and I both got rejection letters from Tufts in the same week our senior year of high school. It was both of our first choices for college, but it seemed like half my high school class was applying there and the fact that I had slightly above average SAT scores and two AP classes under my belt and not much else in the way of extra-curriculars made me unexceptional in their eyes. We wallowed in our misery together at a concert in Providence…what was it, Frente? Shudder. I tend to block all the bad music stages of my life from memory. A bond was forged between us, despite our questionable music taste.

So I went to Wheaton and started to chart the course of my life as I know it and Ryan ended up at Virginia Tech…he’s the first person I thought of when everything that happened there this week and yesterday he wrote a lovely, sad, hopeful tribute to his school…somehow Wachusett managed to squeeze out a few good eggs and I’m glad to be friends with them.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

