Jury Doody. Etc.

It’s Birthday Week in our house, today is my birthday, and Birthday Companion’s is tomorrow. We’re having a little party Friday. The only thing sullying an otherwise untarnished week is the fact that I have jury duty tomorrow, so I guess no heavy drinking for me tonight, gotta look alive! I’ve been following the police blotter (well, ok, NY1) to see what’s going on in the news in case I get put on a case. I’ve already determined that everyone in the recent news is guilty. So maybe I’m not the best juror? But some advice: don’t bring guns to clubs and don’t stab people over a $2 bus fare, recent New York newsmakers. If you do either of these things and then I am given the authority to judge you, then I’m sorry for what you’ve brought on yourself and I’ll show no mercy. Or you know, I might read a book tomorrow and then be let out at noon. Either way, I don’t have to go to work!

When it’s Birthday Week we go all out because how often do two Birthday Companions have birthdays one day apart? So we plan to go out to dinner almost every night this week. Monday we went to Hecho en Dumbo in, uh, Dumbo. It was insanely good Mexican food, if you ever find yourself down under the Manhattan Bridge overpass. We almost had to crawl home, we ate so many tacos, burritas, sopes, moletes, bistecs and flans. No joke, we got a sampler platter. We ate all of the above. Tuesday we went to Jack the Horse, which is a delicious neighborhood pubby type place, despite its filthy-sounding name. I got a blue cheese burger and a beer. It sounds ideal, doesn’t it? It was. Tonight I haven’t decided where to go, but Birthday Companion was right, it would not be crazy to pick a restaurant not in Brooklyn. After all, I hear Manhattan has some fine eateries. I’ll be sure to let you know how that all pans out. 

Finally, my gig recapping The Pickup Artist 2 is done, the last recap is here. That goes out to Amanda and Eliza and my cousin Heidi’s roommate, the only three people who, in the last eight weeks of recapping, admitted to watching the show. For your sakes, I hope you enjoyed it and I’m sorry it’s over.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

