Idol hands

I’ve been feeling really restless at work lately, basically because I’ve mentally checked out of my day job and I’m ready to move on to other things. I have such cool bosses that I feel bad feeling this way because it’s nothing personal. I feel like the way those depression commercials say you’ll feel – no hope, restless, sad all the time, but only for 8 hours a day. It’s strictly job-related, and it’s not quite depression so much as it’s general annoyance. And of course, once I jump on the subway, I leave it all behind. On the one hand I’m really lucky to have a job I don’t take home with me, but on the other, in my pure, guilty heart I feel bad feeling this way. I especially feel bad because the office itself is so cool. As I unwisely told my gay department head, “Our officer is gayer than Ugly Betty.” I meant that decor-wise, but also it’s pretty gay, population-wise too. Which works for me, I just don’t think it was the most diplomatic thing to say to the man who could dropkick me off the lucite, backlit bar in the office and out the door forever. (Seriously, lucite bar in the office. Not kidding.)

I’m so restless because I’m doing more work at VH1, writing about and recapping episodes of American Idol (the first one that’s been posted is here) and they’re creating a whole site for Idol which I’ll have a hand in, so that should be fun. I just wish I didn’t have to do my day job in addition to that. I’m having recession dreams where I choose to quit my job and live in (relative) poverty so that I can just be crafty all day and then write at night. I don’t think that’s practical. I’m starting to hate practical.

I’m enjoying this season of Idol even though I never religiously watched every episode in previous seasons. There sure are a disproportionate number of single mothers and crazy people who love singing, that’s for sure. Once the site launches, I’ll be sure to link away.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

