Between Mom Jeans and These, I’ll Take Mom Jeans

I just got this email about the next big trend at Anthropologie. Oh. Hell. No.

harem2

 

 

P.S. I actually wore harem pants in the 6th or 7th grade. I was in my Weirdo-Awful-Trying-To-Be-Claudia-Kishi phase where it was also okay to wear jingly bell anklets (maybe I was just in an I-Want-To-Be-Indian phase) and this pair of wicker shoes I bought at Pier 1 for $2. I also held on to a pair of hand-me-down electric blue suspenders whose clips were Coke bottlecaps, just WAITING for the right occasion. It never came . Let that be a lesson, she who waits too long for the right occasion to wear the electric blue suspenders will inevitably be crushed to find out there is no right occasion. 

P.P.S. I love that the copy next to the pants reads “…especially when paired with the right top.” It might as well just say “Fatties, Caveat Emptor” or even more honestly “Mwahahaha. There is no RIGHT TOP.” 

h2

P.P.P.S. “Right Top” makes me think that if I ever write about a British character, his last name will no doubt have to be Wrongbottom.

    • Evilyn
    • March 17th, 2009

    I have suffered through both Mom jeans and Harem pants before. I have to disagree with you. Mom jeans flatter no one and draw attention to your mid-section. Harem pants at least hide some flaws. I’d take Harem pants over Mom jeans any day.

  1. I can see what you’re saying, Ev, but there are a lot of rules that go into successfully wearing Harem pants and personally, I think I’ve broken them all. (Rule 1 – be a size 2).

    • Becky
    • March 21st, 2009

    I’m still wondering why more people did not respond to you BSC ref… Hello, people! She said Claudia Kishi!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

