One Wedding and a FUN..eral.. FUNORAIL. FUN MONORAIL. DISNEY.

It’s been a rough week. The loss of Bea Arthur, coupled with the fact that I’m going to favorite-engaged-couple Amanda and Caton’s wedding on May 9th but planning to wear a dress that’s too small and depriving myself of real food in order  to fit in it is making me unhappy. In other words, I need a cheesecake to get me through this. And someone with a lanai upon which I can drink and drown my sorrows.

At least I know that in a week I will either fit into a dress I bought in December knowing full-well it was too small, or I will give up and just eat my weight in wedding cake to deal with the disappointment I have in my own willpower. Both are fine options, but I really do want to wear that dress. 

The wedding is in Florida, (Tampa, not Miami but you know that if I had the time I’d make the pilgrimage for Bea), but I don’t have the time because as soon as those two lovebirds say “I do,” we are so outta there – Disney waits for no one. Because yes, we are going back to Disney! For a week! Oh my God I can’t wait to eat so much freaking food in the World Showcase! Seriously. After Traveling Companion and I got back from Disney the last time, we researched and found the recipe for the cheesy chicken (Chicken a la Raja or something? More like Chicken con Awesome.) that fake Disney Mexico served because it was so insanely good. I never knew how much food mattered at Disney and that it is so very, very delicious down there, which is why I called about 2 months ago to make reservations for all our meals. They open the reservations up 3 months in advance and people, believe me when I tell you that some places were fully booked 3 months ago. We learned the hard way that you don’t want to be wandering around the Hollywood Studios on an empty stomach, lest you end up eating day-old chicken fingers for lunch. And I love chicken fingers, that’s not the issue, the issue is that there is SO MUCH MORE you COULD be eating if only you had made a reservation. 

The food is not the only reason we’re going either (although it’s a priority now that we found out Space Mountain is not going to be running for 6 months starting like, this week. We’ll always have vaguely racist Splash Mountain though…) We also decided to go a little nutters on the trip and rent Segways and take a Segway Tour of Epcot for a morning. When my travel companion brought this up I was like, “what, and look like Gob? I don’t think so.” But the more we mulled it over I was like “What, and look like Gob? I think very much so.” So I made the reservation, and when I did the helpful Disnervationist was like “Ohhh mah Gahd, y’all HAVE to bring a camera. What’s yer travelin’ companion’s name?” “Jeff.” “Well you are gonna want to take pitchers a’ Jeff fallin’ off that thang!”.  So basically, yes. I’m going to force him to wear loose linen pants and sandals to really look the part.

I have been waiting for three years also to have a sweet sip of the glorious nectar called Dole Whip, the pineapple sorbet only available in Disney and Hawaii and according to certain people on the internet, the occasional college dining hall. It is so good and despite my mild fear of flying to Florida in the midst of an international Swine Flu pandemic, if I had to die, it would be with a Dole Whip in one hand and a custom made chocolate chip cookie ice cream sandwich in the other (available at the Main Stree USA bakery! Act now!) Farewell cruel world. You are delicious.

    • emma
    • May 1st, 2009

    PLEASE dress like Gob and PLEASE take pictures.

    • I wonder how hard it would be to bring a boom-box that plays “The Final Countdown” with us on the Segway…

    • Becky
    • May 2nd, 2009

    Mike and I passed on doing a Segway tour of Chicago a few years ago and both have been regretting it ever since. Have a great time, but don’t fall off. Is it possible to take a video of this? Really I want Jeff to take a video of you on one… It makes me laugh thinking of it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

