Rolling Off The Rails

Gravy! But that’s how it goooooes!

This picture might just be the reason I bought this cookbook in the first place. Can you blame me? (That’s not to say that the recipe for Sandwich Towers, the first ingredients of which include a cup of mayo and 2 tablespoons of relish, wasn’t just as intriguing, but just LOOK at that beautiful train.)

The first thing you might notice in the picture, as I did because I am a mashed potato freak and could eat them for every meal if society didn’t have such a problem with those people who are so fat that they can no longer move, is how dry those taters are. They look bad. And even though I’ve never really gotten a read on something’s temperature from a photo before, they look cold, don’t they? I can’t help but think that if Randy from A Christmas Story‘s meatloaf was shaped like a train, “Mommy’s Little Piggie” wouldn’t be a thing. I also can’t help but think that if Martha Stewart got her hands on this idea, this train would be the shiz, and there would be tracks complete with julienned leek railroad ties, dry ice coming out of a hollowed root vegetable steam engine and a train depot constructed out of flatbread, held together by a red pepper hummus and a tiny mashed potato sculpture of Peter Dinklage inside. Still, what kid wouldn’t want to sink his teeth into the bar car of the meatloaf Metro-North?

    • Erin
    • May 11th, 2010

    This is a dish for “Teens and Under.” I recommend serving this meatloaf train at your teen’s birthday party. Then all you have to do is sit back, put your feet up, and wait for the minor emancipation papers to roll in.

  1. I’m pretty sure this very meal was served on “My Super Sweet Sixteen (Where It Was Just Me, My Parents, And The Stuffed Animals I Call My Friends)”

    • Doctor Girlfriend
    • May 12th, 2010

    This is even better than the pate subway tram my Aunt fashioned for service at my bat mitzvah. I tip my bonnet to you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

