Archive for May 17th, 2010

What in the what fruit mold what?

Just because I have the visual here, I’m going to go out on a limb and say that this Frosted Melon Mold (frosted with plain old cream cheese, mixed with milk) might be one of the grosser things I’ve seen in a while. I also love the casual suggestion to “frost the entire outside of the melon” which I assume is peeled, slippery and completely impossible to frost, because when I hear “frost” I think “frosting”, i.e. sugary, pasty treat and since there is no sugar involved, this sounds more like a schmear of cream cheese situation. Schmear’s too ethnic for the 50’s though, I guess. I’m not a melon fan though so maybe I have this all wrong, but no matter how you spread it, this sounds terrible.

What I’m pretty sure I don’t have wrong is how bad the frozen, gelatin and mayo encased tomato-cucumber salad sounds. Without a visual aid, I honestly can’t picture how that would look, but texturally speaking, it’s making me gag just thinking about it. And then there’s the recipe for Swedish Fish Salad that includes hard-boiled eggs, raw yolks, and 1 cup of flaked cooked fish and ┬áthat will make me gag some more, lose my appetite and wonder why I joined Weight Watchers when reading ancient, gelatin-based recipes is a perfectly reasonable way to lose your appetite. On the other hand, a salad that employs Swedish Fish candy sounds entirely delightful.

