What are these bagels you speak of, and why must we mock them?

See, back in the olden days, bagels weren’t as common as they are now. I guess they didn’t hit their stride until Lender’s came along and really gave them the boost they needed, but I’m still gonna blame their unpopularity on anti-Semitism. I saw School Ties, I know what the deal was, let’s not gloss over it. Brendan Fraser taught us all a lesson in acceptance that day.

I do so love though that a) these “mock bagels” have to be described as doughnut-shaped rolls because the concept of the bagel was still so foreign to mid-century Americans and b) this recipe calls for them to be made with tomato juice mixed into hot roll mix. It’s all a little too savory for my tastes. How could something so savory be so unsavory? It’s truly a question for the ages. Also, “covered in all kinds of spreads”=  WASP terminology for “schmear”.

    • Becky
    • June 3rd, 2010

    You changed shit up on me! I was wondering what this was…

    • Mags
    • June 3rd, 2010

    i think this is one of my fav posts of yours!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

